



**Press Release** 

Joint award from DVR, EVU, and DEKRA

## Andreas Wingert Honored with the European Commercial Vehicle Safety Award

Andreas Wingert has been awarded the European Commercial Vehicle Safety Award 2024. The prize was awarded for the 35th time jointly by the European Association for Accident Research and Analysis (EVU), the expert organization DEKRA and the German Road Safety Council (DVR). The official award ceremony took place during the EVU annual conference in Kufstein, Austria. The award winner is Head of Advanced Engineering at Japanese truck manufacturer Mitsubishi Fuso.

"We all strive to ensure that no more people lose their lives or are seriously injured on the roads. We are therefore very grateful when such dedicated engineers use their creativity and inventiveness to further develop vehicle technology in this direction", said the newly elected EVU President **Prof. Hermann Steffan** in his laudatory speech. "The approach of rolling out these safety systems worldwide is of great importance and deserves our appreciation."

Andreas Wingert studied mechanical engineering in the USA. He obtained a Bachelor's degree from the University of Cincinnati in 2000 and a Master's degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 2002. This was followed by a period of study at the Institute for Space and Astronautical Sciences (ISAS) at the University of Tokyo. In 2004, Wingert started as a trainee at the former DaimlerChrysler AG and from 2006 developed assistance systems such as lane departure warning and drowsiness assist at Mitsubishi Fuso. At Daimler, he was then involved in the functional and software development of the fourth generation of active brake assist, which supports pedestrian detection. Since 2016, he has been back at Mitsubishi Fuso in Japan and has played a key role in developing and implementing various active safety systems as Team Leader of Driver Assistance Systems and, since 2020, as Head of Advanced Engineering. In particular, the jury honored his contribution to rolling out the systems across different platforms and markets with the European Commercial Vehicle Safety Award 2024.

DateStuttgart / Kufstein, 16.09.2024 / Nr. 081-AContactWolfgang SiglochPhone+49.711.7861-2386Fax+49.711.7861-742386E-Mailwolfgang.sigloch@dekra.com

DEKRA e.V. Corporate Communications Handwerkstraße 15 70565 Stuttgart, Germany www.dekra.com/en/press-overview

Page 1/3



"The worldwide introduction of active safety systems, for which Andreas Wingert has rendered outstanding services over the past 20 years, has great potential to prevent accidents and save lives," said **Barend Hauwetter**, Head of Vehicle Technology at the German Road Safety Council and member of the EVU Presidential Council. "If critical situations don't arise in the first place because driver assistance systems warn or intervene accordingly, that is a big plus for road safety."

**Jann Fehlauer**, Managing Director of DEKRA Automobil GmbH, commented on the award: "Active safety is particularly important in heavy commercial vehicles – because accidents involving commercial vehicles almost always have serious consequences for other road users. It is not for nothing that commercial vehicles were pioneers in most active safety systems. The work of Andreas Wingert and his respective teams has made important progress possible in this field. Once again, we are honoring a worthy winner in 2024."

## Picture Caption Group Photo

Andreas Wingert has been awarded the European Commercial Vehicle Safety Award 2024. From left: Peter Rücker, Head of Accident Research and Accident Analytics at DEKRA; Barend Hauwetter, Head of Vehicle Technology at the German Road Safety Council; award recipient Andreas Wingert; EVU President Prof. Hermann Steffan. *Photo: Thomas Seidenstücker* 

## List of recipients to date

- 1990 Professor Paul Strifler (Daimler), Germany
- 1991 Professor Nikolaus Marx (University of Bremen), Germany
- 1992 Professor Ernst Göhring (Daimler), Germany
- 1993 Professor Klaus Langwieder (European Insurances Association), Germany
- 1994 Professor Egon-Christian von Glasner (Daimler), Germany
- 1995 Professor Gyula Köfalvi (Széchenyi István University), Györ, Hungary
- 1996 Siegfried Werber (DVR), Germany
- 1997 Professor Pál Michelberger (University of Budapest, President of FISITA), Hungary
- 1998 Eric Thoms (Scania), Sweden
- 1999 Toru Kajiyama (Isuzu), Japan
- 2000 Richard Hildebrandt (Allied Signal), USA
- 2001 Paul Oppenheimer MBE (Lucas-Girling), Great Britain
- 2002 Professor Jovan Todorovic (University of Belgrade), Serbia
- 2003 Bernard Tripier (Bosch), France
- 2004 Professor Sigmar Micke (Bosch), USA
- 2005 Friedrich-Wilhelm Matzner (Bendiberica), Spain
- 2006 Dr. Fujio Momiyama (Hino), Japan
- 2007 Dr. Jürgen Trost (Daimler), Germany



- 2008 Lennart Svenson (Volvo), Sweden
- 2009 Professor László Palkovics (Knorr), Hungary
- 2010 Professor Hartmut Marwitz (Daimler), Germany
- 2011 Hidehiko Enomoto (Hino), Japan
- 2012 Eberhard Hipp (MAN), Germany
- 2013 Christian Börner (BG Fahrzeuge), Germany
- 2014 Dr. Erwin Petersen (WABCO), Germany
- 2015 Professor Jörg Zürn (Daimler), Germany
- 2016 Dr. Christian Wiehen (WABCO), Germany
- 2017 Fredrich Claezon (Scania), Sweden
- 2018 Alexander Berg (DEKRA), Germany
- 2019 Dr. Stefan Guserle (MAN), Germany
- 2020 Kay Morschheuser (Daimler), Germany
- 2021 Joachim Werner (Iveco), Germany
- 2022 Walter Niewöhner (DEKRA), Germany
- 2023 Ingo Scherhaufer (Daimler Truck), Germany
- 2024 Andreas Wingert (Mitsubishi Fuso), Japan / Germany